Advent thanksgivings (days 1-2)

So I’ve had this idea to do some days of thanksgiving again but didn’t get to start at Thanksgiving. So it’s now become Advent thanksgivings. I processed my transition from Austin to the Bay Area on this blog, and now I want to use these thanksgivings to remind me of how the Bay Area has become home. And hopefully it helps me trust that in time, Durham, NC will also become home. These Advent days coincide with the packing and saying goodbyes here in Berkeley – we’re headed out soon!

 

Day 1. InterVarsity’s Silicon Coast Area Team.

There was an Area Director opening in Silicon Coast back in 2009 and I was praying about possibly making a move.  So when Collin called asking if I’d be interested I knew I should consider it. It wasn’t that I had ‘done it all’ in Austin as the AD – in fact I knew there was a lot still to do. But I did wonder if I had taken the Central Texas team as far as I could, and that perhaps someone else could take it further with their unique set of gifts.

And there was plenty of ‘new’ here, I remember the phrase ‘dorm ministry’ being used in a team meeting and it took me several hours to realize that it meant something different here! That first year especially was hard – I got sick often and had a lot to learn about the context of ministry at Stanford and UC Santa Cruz, as well as getting to know the staff. And just figuring out life like grocery stores, directions, and the weather — I was so confused about the sun/shade thing for a long time — took a lot. The team was gracious to me!

And over time, I grew more comfortable and we were able to grow the ministries in partnership (joint fall conference and spring break camps) and to leverage our resources to plant at community colleges. I’m so thrilled at the way the area has grown up and multiplied into two now under Adrian and Daniel’s leadership. And I’m especially grateful for all the staff and interns with whom I had the honor to serve. I loved leading this team, and I learned so much from y’all too! I couldn’t quickly find a picture from all 5 years but posted a couple. (probably good that I couldn’t find the photo from the second year, that one was pretty terrible looking, haha)

Day 2. InterVarsity’s Pacific Region Team

I was very sad to leave Red River – it was hard to leave my home region where I knew some of the staff from when I was a student, and they knew me! And though I was sad to leave, the Pacific Region welcomed me with open arms.  It was a hard transition that fall but I felt the love and hospitality of the RLT especially (of course it helped that my BFF Jen was on the team, but I really did feel the RLT love).  For my first regionals, I was coming from another meeting so Kimber and her 2yo son picked me up at the airport and were a wonderful welcoming committee.  On the last day I was sitting in the back of the room and he fell asleep on me! I felt trusted and welcomed. Now that I have a 2yo of my own, that means even more to me.

I loved being an Associate Regional Director in Pacific – both the ARD team and the RLT have been profound gifts to me.  Leading planting in the region and directing our racial justice student conference have been huge highlights for me in my staff career.  While I had already left the region last year to take the National Director role for Asian American Ministries, it was great to be able to visit easily.

Last weekend I got to be at Pacific Regionals again and was so grateful for the chance to be there and give one last exhortation to the team.  I’m so proud of the work this team does and the ways they’ve led out in coming alongside what God’s doing at community colleges, and in engaging with race and justice issues. I know I can still come visit, but it will take a lot longer to get there! 😀  I’ll always claim Pacific Region, and hopefully they still claim me! (In case you’re wondering, I’ll also always claim Red River Region, too!)

 

It’s late now, so I’ll have to post some more double days the rest of this week to catch up.

Leave a comment