the more things change

the more they stay the same?

Or at least, the more I try to do the same things.  I’ve got about a month before hitting the road, and I find myself consciously choosing my Austin places more.  Flightpath, El Chilito, Clementine, Korea House, Eastside Cafe, and Bookpeople to name a few.  I find myself getting all sentimental just driving to and from places.

And perhaps in a very full circle way – tomorrow I’m watching the world cup with my pastors.  Hopefully the US will pull off a win like they did 8 years ago against Mexico.  Back then it was just a few of us meeting to talk about the church plant, and that game is an iconic memory for me.  (plus it was a great game!)  I preached my last sermon at Mosaic on Sunday, and talked a bit about our journey and how 8 years ago we really didn’t know how things would go.  Would the church make it?  So many church plants fail… And we’ve made it – with lots of highs and lots of lows, and God has been faithful.

There’s a lot I don’t know about life in California, a lot that I have no control over.  There will probably be new coffeeshops and new friends.  There will definitely be highs and lows.  So I’m challenged to remember that even when it doesn’t feel like it –  God is faithful.

“I believe; help my unbelief!”

now playing:  Enough to Go By – Vienna Teng

2 thoughts on “the more things change

  1. sophia

    aww. i’m sad that you’re leaving austin, sabrina, but if i ever visit SF i’ll try to find you. i remember when you first moved to atx after joining IVstaff… i learned so much from your leadership! i truly praise God for you and pray for His wisdom and comfort during your move.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

