the power of suggestion

On Sunday morning, a friend mentioned that she had been looking at a house up on North Lamar, and the reference point she used was the restaurant, Mandarin House.  It really isn’t much to look at, but some of my friends think of it as one of the best Chinese places in town – meaning, their parents want to eat there… especially if they are from Taiwan.  Here is a teeny picture.  Really, not much to look at.

i'm not sure what restaurant it used to be...

i'm not sure what restaurant it used to be...

Anyway, after church that night – I was exhausted, and was thinking, mm, Chinese noodles sound good.  And then, the off-handed comment from 8 hours before came back… Mandarin House!  I especially love the pork noodles from the Chinese menu.  So, off I went.

As I was driving home, I thought, “Am I that easily influenced??? Is the power of suggestion that strong?”  Granted, I do love Chinese food, but still…

Then I remembered that all week while lying on the couch, I’d been slowly reading “The Fortune Cookie Chronicles” by Jennifer 8. Lee.  The book talks all about Chinese food in America, and the social aspects behind it.  I found it incredibly fascinating, and apparently my stomach found that it really wanted Chinese food as a result. 🙂

If you’re looking for a quick intro to the topic – check out this video of her presenting at TED.  Among the really interesting things, there are more Chinese restaurants in the US than McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Burger King, and KFC combined.  Yikes!  Anyway, the book is insightful and fun, especially since, well, like I said before I love Chinese food.  Also, in reading the book, I realized that I’m only 2 degrees away from the author a couple of times.

Anyway, Chinese food is pretty innocuous (at least I think so), but I do wonder about all the other things that media and everything else in the world is suggesting all the time.  It looks like what I hear and see really does matter…

3 thoughts on “the power of suggestion

  1. kirstin

    We enjoy watching random TED presentations from time to time. That was a fun one. Very interesting. Now I’d like some Chinese food, too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

