here comes Lent…

At liturgy Sunday night Don said that one reason the Christian calendar is good for us is that it takes us out of our individual relationship with God – how we’re feeling, etc, and well, ready or not, Lent comes every year.  Or Advent comes, like clockwork.  It’s not about our feelings.  That is a very good thing.

All that said (about our feelings not mattering, etc) I’m looking forward to Lent this year.  It has been a significant season for me these past 6 years that we’ve been observing Lent at Mosaic.

I have a lot from sabbatical that I want to continue to process, and this seems like the appropriate season for that.  In my Old Testament class we talked a bit about wilderness and wandering, and I am intrigued.  But most of all, maybe I’m just expectant.  I need Lent because I need Easter.  I need the reminder of my desolate places just like I need resurrection.

Ready or not, here Lent comes…

One thought on “here comes Lent…

  1. Melissa

    Ohhh yeah. I am in total agreement, and I am still trying to figure out what i should give up/add. *sigh* It will come to me, it will. Great words, Ms. Chan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

