help!

I am definitely reverse culture-shocking.  When I wake up in the morning, I’m still sorta thinking in Cantonese  (that and it’s also ridiculously early – 5am).  I am wondering where all the people are when I go out, especially all the Asian people. 🙂

But perhaps slightly comical is the food situation.  On Wednesday when I was at SFO on a layover, I phoned my new roommate (woohoo!) to let her know about my arrival time, etc.  She asked a really great question that’s typical for someone coming back from overseas – “What one or two things are you most looking forward to eating when you get back?”  

I was stumped.  I couldn’t think of anything.  And I kept thinking for the next flight, and really, came to the conclusion that I didn’t really miss much.  I could very happily live in Hong Kong and eat what I really like.  I mean, aside from all the great Chinese food – there’s also amazing sushi, Korean food, and deep-fried McD’s apple pies.  What else do I really need?

This is where I need some help from you, lovely reader (all 4 of you) – what foods should I get excited about eating here?? Remind me what I like! 🙂  

*what has also been a little trying is that my refrigerator had a bit of an issue and is at the repair shop.  It should be back tomorrow, so that should help, because I’m interested in making jook (congee) and some other stuff that I ate a lot of in HK.  But I digress.  Suggestions for other things I like in the States?

7 thoughts on “help!

  1. matt gierhart

    You know I was in the states for xmas and I kinda had the same problem with food. Mexican food is what I’m suppose to desire, but I only had it once. London is different from HK in that it is a lot like American food. There were some Austin restaurants that I desired, but not a type of food.

    I recommend Uchi.

    Reply
  2. Tiffanie

    You are my cheeseburger, my precious cheeseburger. I’ll wait for you-oo YEAH I’ll wait for you-oo OH!…

    Mom’s tong, but that’s not really an American food thing. Mashed potatoes? Delicious green beans? Cheesy cheesy macaroni and cheese? Chocolate mousse? Week-old biscuit in the back of the fridge?

    Reply
  3. sabrinachannel Post author

    Thanks for the ideas everyone – totally got the idea of a burger in my head, so went with some friends and got a burger with guacamole. Yum. (and ahem – the biscuit was older, I think)

    Keep the ideas coming! I need all the help I can get…

    Reply
  4. kirstin

    well, i know when i was in spain, i missed bagels and rootbeer. but not together.

    now in idaho, i miss texadelphia. there really aren’t any good cheesesteaks out west.

    good coffee? (i don’t know if HK has good coffee).

    Reply
  5. ellen

    breakfast tacos!!! i don’t know of any place in LA that sells them–we only breakfast burrito places. can’t wait to hear more about your trip! welcome back!

    Reply
  6. Rene

    Welcome back friend!!

    Oh there is so much food that can be missed. Here are a few of my favorite Austin places.

    Hawaiian Fajitas (combo) from Hula Hut
    Pancakes from Kerby Lane
    Chorizo Stuffed Chicken from Trudy’s
    Stuffed Avocado from Trudy’s
    Fried Pickles from Pluckers

    Plus a few others
    Freebirds
    Pizza (so many to choose from)
    Chips/Queso/Salsa

    Okay now you made me crave Hula Hut for lunch 🙂 There is a Chuy’s in Plano now hope Hula isn’t too far behind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

