Thankful and joyful.

Drumroll, please!

Drumroll, please!

[the picture is from an awesome Japanese video game – involving a taiko dream and hitting beats.  I couldn’t help but grin from ear to ear the whole time my cousin Matt and I were playing!]

I’ve only got a few more days left of what’s been an amazing trip to Hong Kong.  I am so thankful to God for the opportunity to be here, and to have gotten to see my family so much.  What a great way to end my sabbatical!  I’m sad to leave, but the bigger feeling is a lot of joy.

Of course the biggest highlight has been being with family…

looking at old family pictures

looking at old family pictures

I’ve loved getting to look at lots of old family pictures, and hear more of our family history.  By hearing all the stories I feel like I’ve just gotten to know my grandparents, even though they passed away in the late 80s and early 90s.  The more I learn about them, the more I admire them!

The same goes for my aunts and uncles and cousins – getting to know them better has been such a blessing.

Last time I left Hong Kong, I was incredibly sad to leave.  2005 was the first time I had gotten to meet my relatives in 14 years, and it was so overwhelming and amazing and short – a little over 3 weeks.  Meeting everyone and experiencing extended family made me aware of what I had missed out on all those years.  But the biggest reason I was so sad to leave is because I didn’t know when or how I would come back and/or continue these relationships (I figured I would only come back with my parents).

Don’t get me wrong – I’m still sad to leave this time.  But I know that I can visit Hong Kong again on my own.  I can get around here, and meet up with family, etc.  And even if I can’t come back very soon, my Cantonese has improved dramatically and it will be much easier to talk on the phone with folks!

joyful.  [on a walk with my aunt near HK harbor]So yeah, thanks for your well-wishes and prayers – this is one joy-filled traveler saying goodnight for now.  Gotta get some rest so that I can enjoy these last few days!

2 thoughts on “Thankful and joyful.

  1. poshdeluxe

    yay sabrina! i’m so so so glad that yr trip was full of wonderful family time, amazing sights and, of course, tasty business.

    i admit, i can’t wait to have you back in SG! 🙂

    Reply
  2. sabrinachannel Post author

    🙂 I think I’m getting to the place of being glad to be back… though, I really miss the family, and of course, the FOOD! I honestly didn’t miss any of the food over here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

