Monday June 20, 2005

so after talking to my friend stephanie at church (a nurse), and doing a little more research – i’m pretty sure I have pertussis (commonly known as whooping cough).   It’s most dangerous to little babies – stephanie and her baby both had it, and the little baby had to be in the hospital. 

Apparently, in adults, it just takes a month or two for the cough to go away.  I’m not contagious, and there’s nothing to do about it.  But at least I know I don’t have chronic bronchitis or something.  Apparently, there’s a huge outbreak right now in Texas (and all over), and college students are getting it in droves because as 7-8 year olds ppl get the last shot of a vaccine that lasts 10 years.  So… Stephanie was not surprised that I got sick at a camp with, oh, you know, 200 college students. 

whoop whoop.

in other news, I have a new computer that I haven’t been able to setup yet.  My dell latitude CsX is 4+ years old, and starting to flake (back in the day, I named it Phoebe after the Friends character – I’m surprised it didn’t flake earlier).  The new one is an IBM Thinkpad X40 – it’s super light.  I’ve been eyeing one for a year now, and I bought it used on ebay for just over 1000.  Any suggestions for a name for it?  Maybe I should wait until I actually start using it – I need to blow away the OS and partition the hard drive the way I like it, and then transfer over all my data.

enough techspeak, off to work.

11 thoughts on “Monday June 20, 2005

  1. MrCraphead

    Oh awesome, we can be IBM buddies. πŸ˜€ I like the way IBM preconfigures their laptops, so much so that I use their system restore disks instead of reformatting/partitioning my own way. But congrats on the laptop, the X line is soooo small! o_0

    Reply
  2. sabbychan

    yay ibm buddy! πŸ™‚ i did like that they don’t have all that crazy random junkware on it that most lesser pcmakers have. but i like having 4 different logical drives, one for OS, one for data, one for programs, and one for temp…. and i’m too cheap to buy partition magic. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. wangdada

    oh – the wireless program that came with my IBM a/b/g card doesn’t actually work with a g network I have at home, so be forewarned that if you stick with that program, you might have problems. (hopefully they’ve fixed it!)

    Reply
  4. sabbychan

    haha, 40GB…. thanks for the info on wireless g… but as of now, i’m still wireless b, so… we’ll see. πŸ™‚

    i just named her lilly, after the woman who worked (and lived) at SPECS in manila. I think it will remind me of how wimpy I am about ministry stuff – because she lives so incarnationally and serves people so well.

    Reply
  5. Soapie

    one of my coworkers at work in austin said his daughter had pertussis too; that was a few months ago, right when the outbreak started to get into the news.  i hope you feel better sabrina!

    Reply
  6. p00h67

    SABBBBBy! did u get my message about the mattress? its still in my old room. all lonely. πŸ™‚ i m still wondering if that was ok or not.

    hope your summer is going wellllll. i can’t believe you are still ‘whooping’. get better soon. miss you!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  7. gigahertz

    So, you’ve had a xanga for awhile- just started one a few months back.  Kind of addictive.

    Hope you were able to track down Dolqun…I need to write him back at some point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

