Friday January 21, 2005

A year ago today I had ACL surgery.  To celebrate the fact that it worked, I made a point to bike to campus today.  I hit ALL green lights (amazing) but it still took 35-40 minutes.  It’s still a great feeling to pull into the office on my bike.  My knee bothered me only a tad. Perhaps I’ll get faster as I practice.

A not so good feeling is working hard on my washing machine for 2 hours putting in the new part, and it still not working.  I think there might be something wrong with some of the switches though, so I need to get a voltmeter to test a few things. 

A fun feeling is remembering the couple days I spent at the Hankes house recovering from knee surgery – crutching around the house, pain pills, and all the fun of hanging out in the routine of little kids.

Today I filled out an application for Oikocredit.  It’s a program where I can invest money in a Calvert fund that pays 2% interest – and the money goes to different microcredit organizations around the world.  Microcredit (or microfinance) is a way to give the poor small loans so that they can start small businesses, make a living, and repay the loans.  It’s a pretty neat thing – their mission statement says

“Oikocredit, as a worldwide cooperative society, promotes global justice by challenging people, churches and others to share their resources through socially responsible investments and by empowering disadvantaged people with credit”

Check it out.
Well, even though the washer’s still broke, I’m off to rest.

3 thoughts on “Friday January 21, 2005

  1. writebikerun

    Sabs,

    we miss you a lot!! that was a fun sojourn at our house last year. You are a stud for biking in January to the office. It is -8 today. ugh.

    I like the oikocredit thing…

    d

    Reply
  2. gann

    i think it’s cool that you not only know what a voltmeter is, but that you would know how to use it. i always think it’s cool that you even thought of getting a voltmeter in the first place. did you learn that in lego-lab?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

