Saturday September 18, 2004

Earlier this week I went down the “things a year ago were easier because…” road.  I came up with things like:  my sister didn’t have cancer, I didn’t feel like I was drowning in my work responsibilities, close friends hadn’t moved away, there was a 2 year old and a newborn down the street from me, etc.  It’s not a very good game to play, no one wins.

Of course, I thought about it more and my sister did have cancer, we just didn’t know it… my friends were thinking about moving away, I just didn’t know it… Ignorance is often bliss, for sure.  That with knowledge, comes responsibility.  Knowing Tiff had cancer means responding accordingly, etc etc.  There’s been a lot that I’ve learned that I’m still trying to figure out how to respond. 

It’s much more blissful not to know that at least 3000 people a week are dying in Darfur.  9/11 every week, and flags aren’t at half mast, no one’s talking about life post darfur, or whatever.  It’s an area the size of Texas!

When I think about this stuff, sometimes I just feel exhausted (like right now).  Props to phoebe for her insights.  I also think I’m learning the significance of sabbath.  There’s this amazing quote in the sabbath book I read recently.  But it’s not here now, so I’ll have to add it later.

2 thoughts on “Saturday September 18, 2004

Leave a Reply

